Chamonix and its history

hotel-chamonix

The Chamonix region was inhabited by the Gauls for centuries, before becoming part of the Roman Empire in 121 B.C. It was later ruled by the Burgundians and the Counts of Geneva. The first key date in town's history is 1091 A.D., when it was granted to the abbey of Saint-Michel de la Cluse, located in the Piedmont. The monks built and founded the priory.

Tourism did not become a part of the local economy until the 1750s, when two Englishmen discovered the Mer de Glace glacier. In the following years, the valley took the international stage. The scientist Horace Benedict de Saussure became the first person to climb Mont-Blanc. Mountaineers from around the world came to explore the "Roof of the World", as writers and poets of the time called it. Skis made it easier to travel.

Savoie became a part of France in 1860. Modern transportation, infrastructure and hotels contributed to the town's success as a ski resort. Cable cars, ski lifts and chair lifts take visitors up to the snow-capped peaks.

hotel-chamonix

Chamonix: 100% fun all year round

hotel-chamonix

The town of Chamonix, located in the Haute-Savoie, is an exciting place year round. In winter, visitors enjoy four different ski areas: Les Grands Montets, Brévent/Flégère, the Domaine de Balme and Les Houches. Skiers of all levels will find the right slopes for them: secure slopes for beginners, very steep slopes, wooded slopes, freestyle slopes, and of course cross-country skiing and ski touring trails. Up-to-date facilities including ski lifts, cable cars and gondola lifts make for easy access to the top of the slopes with no need to wait in line.


In summer, the region is perfect for hiking and exploring the Mont-Blanc massif. From the Aiguille du Midi, particularly the panoramic view of the Pointe Helbronner peak of the Mont-Blanc massif, to the Montenvers and the Mer de Glace, the scenery surrounding the town is stunning. A guided tour by tram, a train trip through the valley at the foot of Mont-Blanc, a unique summer sledding experience... Every ski area offers surprises: fun, sporty and relaxing activities are available year-round, including in spring and fall.

hotel-chamonix

Other activities in Chamonix

hotel-chamonix

Golf de Chamonix
18-hole course located at the bottom of a glacial valley and surrounded by the great slopes of Mont-Blanc.

Mountain biking trails
The Tour, Col de Balme, Brévent, Lognan, Bellevue and Prarion ski areas offer dedicated downhill mountain biking sites with access via ski lift.

Paragliding & Speed riding
Two-seater flights, first experiences, courses and paragliding training are all available to help you take flight across the Valley of Chamonix, which offers easy access to the take-off sites by ski lift.

Chamonix Luge - Alpine Coaster
The Chamonix Luge is a fun ride for the whole family... a roller coaster in the heart of the mountains! The 1300 m track offers jumps, turns and loops.

Snowshoeing
Visitors who love stunning views and are looking for a peaceful outing can take advantage of the trails marked by the ski resort teams in the ski areas and on the Mer de Glace.

Dog sledding & skijoring
Experience life as a trapper or explorer with dog sledding, and discover a new, natural equine snow sport with skijoring... everything is possible here in the Chamonix Valley.

hotel-chamonix

Hôtel Gourmets & Italy in Chamonix

AN IDEAL LOCATION WITH VIEWS OF MONT-BLANC!

hotel-chamonix

Hôtel Gourmets & Italy has fostered well-being for its guests, be they French or foreign, business travellers, couples, families or groups of friends for over a century. Located in the heart of Chamonix, it faces towards Mont-Blanc and the Bossons Glacier. It is on a calm, quiet one-way street so skiers, mountaineers and hikers can relax after a busy day. In summer, a charming terrace and pool welcome visitors for a waterside break on the banks of the Arve. The hotel, which was recently renovated to offer an even more comfortable stay,

features fully equipped rooms and suites with a tasteful yet authentic Alpine touch. All rooms come with modern facilities, including a flat-screen LCD satellite TV, Wi-Fi, and a direct phone line. The hotel's relaxation spaces, including the sauna, hammam and outdoor pool, invite guests to relax. The bar serves exceptional cocktails. Breakfast is a huge and delicious spread featuring regional products, home-made breads and pastries, cereal, jam, cooked fruits, fruit juice, and more.

Special Offers

L’histoire de Chamonix

hotel-chamonix

Le territoire de Chamonix fut occupé par les Gaulois durant des siècles avant d'être intégré à l'Empire romain en l'an 121 av. J.-C. Les Burgondes et le Comte de Genève en furent aussi propriétaires. La première date marquante de l'histoire de la ville est 1091 : Chamonix passe sous l'égide de l'abbaye Saint-Michel de la Cluse en Piémont. Les moines bâtissent et mettent en place le prieuré.

Le tourisme ne sera une véritable source de profit que dans les années 1750 après la découverte de la mer de glace par deux Anglais. Plusieurs événements mettent ensuite la vallée à l'honneur. Le scientifique Horace Benedict de Saussure est à l'origine de la première ascension du Mont-Blanc. Des alpinistes de toutes origines explorent le "Toit du monde" comme le nomment les écrivains et poètes de l'époque. Les skis facilitent les déplacements.

En 1860, la Savoie devient une province française. Les transports, les infrastructures, l'hôtellerie contribuent au succès de la station de ski. Les téléphériques, les téléskis et les télésièges amènent aux sommets enneigés.

hotel-chamonix

Chamonix : 100 % plaisir en hiver comme en été

hotel-chamonix

La ville de Haute-Savoie animée toute l'année accueille ses visiteurs en hiver sur un domaine skiable divisé en quatre domaines distincts : les Grands Montets, le domaine de Brévent/Flégère, le domaine de Balme et les Houches. Les skieurs de tous niveaux testent des pistes adaptées : pistes sécurisées pour les débutants, pistes avec grandes pentes, ski dans les arbres, ski freestyle, sans oublier le ski nordique et le ski de randonnée. Les équipements modernes dont les remontées mécaniques, les téléphériques et les télécabines débrayables facilitent l'accès aux sommets et évitent les files d'attente.

La période estivale est propice aux randonnées et à la découverte de la région. De l'Aiguille du Midi, et plus particulièrement du panorama Mont Blanc pointe Helbronner, au site du Montenvers vers la Mer de Glace, les paysages éblouissent. Une visite guidée en tramway, un détour enrichissant en train dans la vallée au pied du Mont-blanc, une expérience inédite en luge d'été... Les différents domaines offrent bien des surprises. Des activités ludiques, sportives, relaxantes sont prévues toute l'année, y compris au printemps et en automne.

hotel-chamonix

Autres activités à Chamonix

hotel-chamonix

Golf de Chamonix
Parcours 18 trous situé en en fond de vallée glaciaire et entouré des cimes prestigieuses du Mont-Blanc.

Itinéraires VTT
Sites dédiés au VTT de descente accessibles grâce aux remontées mécaniques sur les domaines du Tour, du col de Balme, du Brévent, de Lognan, de Bellevue et du Prarion.

Parapente & speed riding
Vols, baptêmes, stages... pour voler de ses propres ailes dans la vallée de Chamonix qui offre des approches faciles aux aires de décollage grâce aux remontées mécaniques.

Luge Alpine Coaster
La Luge de Chamonix est une attraction ludique pour toute la famille avec son grand huit au cœur des montagnes ! Piste sur rails de 1300 m de long avec des jumps, virages et vrilles.

Randonnée en raquettes

Les amoureux des panoramas et en quête de sérénité peuvent emprunter les sentiers balisés par les équipes des pistes sur les domaines skiables et sur la Mer de Glace.

Chiens de traîneaux et ski joëring
Vivre la vie de trappeurs en chiens de traîneau, découvrir une glisse en harmonie avec la nature et le cheval grâce au ski joëring… tout est possible au cœur de la vallée de Chamonix !

hotel-chamonix

L'hôtel Gourmets & Italy à Chamonix

UN EMPLACEMENT IDÉAL FACE AU MONT-BLANC !

hotel-chamonix

L'hôtel Gourmet et Italy contribue au bien-être des visiteurs français et étrangers, des personnes en voyage d'affaires, des couples, des familles, des groupes d'amis depuis plus d'un siècle. Il est implanté au centre de Chamonix et est orienté vers le Mont Blanc et le glacier des Bossons. La rue où se situe l'hôtel est calme et peu passante (sens unique) pour favoriser le repos des skieurs, des alpinistes et des randonneurs après les multiples activités de la journée. En été, une jolie terrasse avec une piscine accueille les clients au bord de l'eau, sur la rive droite de l'Arve. Rénové récemment pour vous offrir un meilleur confort,

il met à disposition de nombreux équipements dans des chambres et suites confortables décorées avec goût en respectant l'esprit montagnard. Un écran plat LCD avec chaînes par satellite, l'accès au WiFi, le téléphone direct, modernisent et rendent fonctionnelles chaque chambre. Plusieurs espaces détente, sauna, hammam, piscine extérieure, invitent à la relaxation. Un bar sert des cocktails exquis. Quant au petit déjeuner, il est aussi varié que gourmand avec produits régionaux, pains et viennoiseries cuits sur place, céréales, confitures, compotes, jus de fruits...

Toutes nos offres